Triester (Club Hybrid)
Martin Behr, Martin Osterider

05.07.2021 – 11.07.2021   ⬤ Residency „IT’S ALREADY THERE!"

Since 2003, the two artists Martin Behr and Martin Osterider, born in Graz in 1964, have independently undertaken photographic forays at regular intervals through the Trieste housing estate in the Gries district of Graz, where the two grew up. They follow two paths, both of which they have often taken with family or relatives in their childhood – the “long” and the “short” route. Since 2013, the project “Triester” has appeared as a publication series in Edition Camera Austria. An open library of specific picture stories about the Trieste settlement as an urban and living space, picture essays that emerge from a long-term and ongoing work-in-progress.

For Club Hybrid, Behr and Osterider expand their photographic research spatially, focusing on the surroundings of the demonstration building situated at Herrgottwiesgasse 161. The results of this southward extended visual long-term narrative will be on view at Club Hybrid from 5 July. On 10 July, Behr and Osterider will present their concept of Trieste and invite interested people to a photographic walk. These workshop results will be shown and discussed at the club on Saturday evening.

"Triester" (Club Hybrid), 2021, Behr/Osterider
“Triester” (Club Hybrid), 2021, Behr/Osterider


Martin Behr lives in Graz. He is an art historian, journalist, editor, curator and artist as well as a member of the artist group G.R.A.M.. Martin Osterider is a visual artist. He is concerned with the potentials of photography in the age of the post-digital. Osterider lives in Vienna.

Triester (Club Hybrid)
Martin Behr, Martin Osterider

05.07.2021 – 11.07.2021   ⬤ Residency „IT’S ALREADY THERE!"

Seit 2003 werden von den beiden 1964 in Graz geborenen Künstlern Martin Behr und Martin Osterider unabhängig voneinander in regelmäßigen Abständen fotografische Streifzüge durch die Triester-Siedlung im Grazer Stadtteil Gries unternommen, in der die beiden aufwuchsen. Sie folgen dabei zwei Wegen, die beide in der Kindheit bei Spaziergängen oftmals mit Familie oder Verwandten gegangen sind – die „lange“ und die „kurze“ Runde. Seit 2013 erscheint das Projekt „Triester“ als Publikationsreihe in der Edition Camera Austria. Eine offene Bibliothek jeweils spezifischer Bild-Geschichten über die Triester-Siedlung als Stadt- und Lebensraum, Bildessays, die sich aus einem langfristigen und weiterhin fortgeführten Work-in-Progress herauskristallisieren.

Für den Club Hybrid weiten Behr und Osterider ihre Foto-Recherchen räumlich aus, fokussiert wird das Umfeld des in der Herrgottwiesgasse 161 situierten, offenen Demonstrativbaues. Die Ergebnisse dieser Richtung Süden erweiterten visuellen Langzeiterzählung werden ab dem 5. Juli im Club Hybrid zu sehen sein. Am 10. Juli präsentieren Behr und Osterider ihr Triester-Konzept und laden Interessierte zu einem fotografischen Spaziergang. Diese Workshop-Ergebnisse werden Samstagabend im Club gezeigt und besprochen.

"Triester" (Club Hybrid), 2021, Behr/Osterider
„Triester“ (Club Hybrid), 2021, Behr/Osterider


Martin Behr lebt in Graz. Er ist Kunsthistoriker, Journalist, Herausgeber, Kurator und Künstler sowie Mitglied der Künstlergruppe G.R.A.M.. Martin Osterider ist bildender Künstler. Er beschäftigt sich mit den Potenzialen der Fotografie im Zeitalter des Postdigitalen. Osterider lebt in Wien.